What is the meaning for each granular permission described on the User Guide?
Posted by Sara Duran on 08 April 2013 04:49 PM
Moderators of a session can change other users’ role to promote or demote users and thereby control the access level they have to certain features in the room. In OnSync we call the level of access to features “permissions”. A moderator can also modify a particular user’s permissions individually. This feature is very powerful and quite advanced.
- Invite users: User will be able to invite other users to a specific OnSync session. The invite users button appears in their menu bar.
- Change Permissions: User will be able to change permissions of other users, the same way the Moderator of the session does.
- End Session: User will be able to finalize the session. The menu item appears.
- Edit Notes: User will be able to edit different notes the same way the Moderator of the session does.
- Manage Roles: This permission currently does not do anything and will be removed in the next version of OnSync.
- Session Recording: Allow recording an OnSync session. The record button appears in the top menu bar.
- Allow Copy Embed Code: This will activate the “Copy Embed Code” option that you’ll find on the “Options” menu, for attendees to use it in other sites.
- Audio Conference: User will be able to activate only the Audio Conference.
- Free Publish: User will be able to publish without having to request permission. Note that the previous two options have to be checked for this permission to have any effect. The Camera and Mic buttons appear in the top menu bar and a button appears at the bottom of the video conference sycnlet. If this option is not checked but the user is allowed to Video and/or Audio Conference then he will see a raise hand icon in the top menu bar.
- Accept Requests to Speak: User will be able to accept requests to speak from any attendees. The orange bubbles appear and the option to accept or denu appears in the notifications window.
- Stop Broadcasts: User will be able to stop broadcasts from any attendees. The x button appears in others broadcast windows.
- Change dial-in mode: User will be able to activate the dial-in mode for any attendee. Only available if phone dial-in is enabled.
- Control Content: User will be able to control content opened in the Content Viewer. The control bar at the bottom of the content appears.
- Start Screen Share: User will be able to share screen with the rest of attendees. The Share screen button in the top menu appears.
- Remote Control others Screens: User will be able to remote control other participants screen.
- Activate Whiteboard: User will be able to activate the Whiteboard.
- Edit Whiteboard: User will be able to control any open Whiteboard in the room. He will see the whiteboard controls at the top.
- Select Tabs: User will be able to select different tabs.
- Propagate Tab Selection: When selecting tabs, this selection propagates to others.
- Rip Out Tabs: User will be able to move tabs and change their order.
- Close Tab: User will be able to close tabs.
- Start Private Chat: User will be able to initialize a private chat room.
- Start Group Chat: User will be able to initialize a group chat.
- Clear Chat: User will be able to clear chat window.
- Download Files: User will be able to download files from the shared files section.
- Invite to Audio Conference: User will be able to invite other users to Audio Conference.
- Invite to Share Screen: User will be able to invite other users to share screen.
- Change Status: User will be able to change his user’s status in the user list. The status drop down appears.
- Promote Users: User will be able to promote other users via the role menu. If it is disabled the user cannot see the role menu in the user list.
- Eject Users: User will be able to dismiss other users.